Christmas at the Wartime Bookshop

Christmas at the Wartime Bookshop

Book 3 in the feel-good WWII saga series about a community-run bookshop, from the bestselling author


Brought to you by Penguin.

Alice, Kate and Naomi want to keep the magic of Christmas alive in their village of Churchwood but a thief in the area and a new family that shuns the local community are only the first of the problems they face.

Naomi is fighting to free herself from Alexander Harrington - the man who married her for her money then kept a secret family behind her back. It could be the start of a whole new life for her, but after years of Alexander controlling - and draining - her finances, two questions remain to be answered: how much of her money is left, and will she be able to achieve the independence she craves?

Alice's dreams came true when she married sweetheart Daniel. Now he has returned to the war and Alice misses him terribly, but she is delighted to discover that she's carrying his child. Will she, Daniel and the baby make it through the war unscathed?

For Kate, life with her dysfunctional family on Brimbles Farm has never been easy but she now has Land Girls Pearl and Ruby to help, giving her more time for her friends. She's also in love with pilot Leo. But what sort of shadow will be cast over the lives of all at Brimbles Farm when her brother returns from the war with terrible injuries? And why has Leo stopped writing?

As ever, the Wartime Bookshop is a source of community and comfort. But disaster is about to strike...

Christmas at the Wartime Bookshop is the third novel in the uplifting Wartime Bookshop series, perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest.

**Real readers are LOVING The Wartime Bookshop series**

'Oh I loved this book... please carry on the good writing'

'Wow what a brilliant start to a new series'

'Outstandingly fabulous, warm and inviting... so glad there is going to be a follow-on'

©2023 Lesley Eames (P)2023 Penguin Audio


  • Praise for the Wartime Bookshop series

About the author

Lesley Eames

Lesley is an author of historical sagas. Having previously written sagas set around the time of the First World War, she ventured into the Second World War period with her fifth book, The Wartime Bookshop. Originally from the north west of England (Manchester), Lesley's home is now Hertfordshire where The Wartime Bookshop's fictional village of Churchwood is set. Lesley is thrilled to have enjoyed success in competitions as varied as crime writing to writing for children. She is particularly honoured to have won the Festival of Romance New Talent Award, the Romantic Novelists' Association's Elizabeth Goudge Cup and to have been twice shortlisted in the UK Romantic Novel Awards (RONAs).
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more