Doctor Who: The Renegades Collection

Doctor Who: The Renegades Collection

1st, 4th, 6th Doctor Novelisations


A collection of four classic TV novelisations featuring Time Lords who fled life on Gallifrey.

In The Time Meddler, the turbulent English coastline in 1066 is the scene of a troubled encounter between the Meddling Monk and the First Doctor, Steven and Vicki.

In The Deadly Assassin, the Fourth Doctor returns to Gallifrey and is framed for presidential murder - but his old enemy the Master is waiting in the wings.

In Shada, the Fourth Doctor and Romana visit their old friend, the retired Time Lord Professor Chronotis, at Cambridge University - but an epic adventure featuring K9 soon unfolds.

In The Mark of the Rani, the TARDIS lands the Sixth Doctor and Peri in the Industrial Revolution, where renegade Time Lord the Rani is conducting unethical experiments on the human brain.

Peter Purves, Geoffrey Beevers, Lalla Ward, John Leeson and Nicola Bryant are the readers of this quartet of classic novelisations.

© 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd (P) 2023 BBC Studios Distribution Ltd
'Doctor Who: The Time Meddler' cover image artwork © Jeff Cummins

About the authors

Nigel Robinson

Learn More

Terrance Dicks

Terrance Dicks became Script Editor of Doctor Who in 1968, co-writing Patrick Troughton’s classic final serial, The War Games, and editing the show throughout the entire Jon Pertwee era to 1974. He wrote many iconic episodes and serials for the show after, including Tom Baker's first episode as the Fourth Doctor, Robot; Horror at Fang Rock in 1977; State of Decay in 1980; and the 20th anniversary special, The Five Doctors in 1983. Terrance novelised over sixty of the original Doctor Who stories for Target books, including classics like Doctor Who and the Abominable Snowmen and Doctor Who and the Auton Invasion, inspiring a generation of children to become readers and writers. He died in August 2019, only weeks before the publication of his final Doctor Who short story, ‘Save Yourself’, in The Target Storybook.
Learn More

Douglas Adams

DOUGLAS ADAMS was born in Cambridge in March 1952. He is best known as the creator of The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, which started life as a BBC Radio 4 series. The book went on to be a No. 1 bestseller. He followed this success with The Restaurant at the End of the Universe (1980); Life, The Universe and Everything (1982); So Long and Thanks for all the Fish (1984); Mostly Harmless (1992) and many more. He sold over 15 million books in the UK, the US and Australia. Douglas died unexpectedly in May 2001 at the age of 49.
Learn More

Gareth Roberts

Learn More

Pip & Jane Baker

Pip & Jane Baker were British TV and film writers.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more