The Life to Come

The Life to Come

And Other Stories


A searing collection of E. M. Forster’s short stories about forbidden sexuality and desire

‘Neither of them knew when the end came, and he when he realised it felt no sadness, no remorse’

Ranging from moving to satirical, historical to supernatural, Forster’s masterful storytelling is on full display in these tales of passion and betrayal. Love, death, class and race collide in these short stories, which are alive with sharp social observations and thrum with the threat of violence that stalked gay men’s lives.

Written between 1903 and 1957, only two out of the fourteen stories in this collection were published during E. M. Forster’s lifetime: most of the other stories remained unpublished because of their overtly gay themes.

Introduction by Diarmuid Hester


  • Beautifully written . . . has a freshness, sparkle and bite
    Sunday Telegraph

About the author

E. M. Forster

Edward Morgan Forster (1879-1970) wrote six novels - Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905), The Longest Journey (1907), A Room with a View (1908), Howards End (1910), A Passage to India (1924). Maurice , written in 1914, was published posthumously in 1971. He also published two volumes of short stories; two collections of essays; a critical work (Aspects of the Novel); The Hill of Devi; two biographies; two books about Alexandria; and the libretto for Britten's opera Billy Budd.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more