The Life to Come

The Life to Come

And Other Stories

Select a format:



A searing collection of E. M. Forster’s short stories about forbidden sexuality and desire

‘Madness, isn’t it? What can it matter to anyone else if you and I don’t mind?’

Exploratory, experimental and pioneering, the short stories collected in this volume show E. M. Forster writing about love between men with sensitivity, honesty, anger and humour. Written between 1903 and 1958, only two of the fourteen stories here appeared in print in Forster’s lifetime; most remained unpublished while homosexuality was a crime. They range from light-hearted, satirical pieces to moving, highly charged depictions of desire and shared intimacy – a Christian missionary tormented by longing in ‘The Life to Come’; a fateful woodland encounter in ‘Arthur Snatchfold’; an illicit affair between a young English officer and his Indian friend in ‘The Other Boat’ – and explore the gap between private and public selves, and the places where love, class, race and sexuality collide.

Edited by Oliver Stallybrass
With an Introduction by Diarmuid Hester


  • Beautifully written . . . has a freshness, sparkle and bite
    Sunday Telegraph

About the author

E. M. Forster

Edward Morgan Forster (1879-1970) wrote six novels - Where Angels Fear to Tread (1905), The Longest Journey (1907), A Room with a View (1908), Howards End (1910), A Passage to India (1924). Maurice , written in 1914, was published posthumously in 1971. He also published two volumes of short stories; two collections of essays; a critical work (Aspects of the Novel); The Hill of Devi; two biographies; two books about Alexandria; and the libretto for Britten's opera Billy Budd.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more