Discover Christmas gifts we know they'll love
The Labyrinth of Solitude

The Labyrinth of Solitude


As well as the nine essays on his country's psyche and history that make up 'The Labyrinth of Solitude', this highly acclaimed volume also includes 'The Other Mexico', Paz's heartfelt response to the government massacre of over three hundred students in Mexico City in 1968, and 'Return to the Labyrinth of Solitude', in which he discusses his famous work with Claude Fell. The two final essays contain further reflections on the Mexican government.

About the author

Octavio Paz

Octavio Paz, celebrated poet, diplomat and essayist, was born in 1914 in Mexico City. He began to write at an early age and went on to become a critic and translator, teaching at Cambridge and Harvard Universities. He also served as a diplomat and was Mexican ambassador to France and India. Alongside Pablo Neruda and Jorge Luis Borges, Paz's work has influenced the politics and culture both of his own country and of the world. He received the Miguel de Cervantes Prize in 1981, and the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1990. He died in 1998.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more