test

Don’t miss your chance to buy a reduced copy of BLACK JOY as part of your ticket. The book is only available to purchase online ahead of the event.

Love, literature, friendship, music, carnival, travel, dance, work, nature, food - Black Joy can be found in so many places. Join Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff and Timi Sotire in conversation at Soho House this September as they discuss what it was like to edit Black Joy, the first anthology of its kind.

BLACK JOY is a candid, contemporary and fresh perspective on race, identity, and belonging for the Black British community. Join us for this evening of celebration and conversation.

Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff is an award-winning journalist, editor, features writer, columnist. She is currently a Senior Staff Editor at the New York Times and was formerly editor-in-chief of gal-dem weekend editor and writer at Dazed. She is the editor of Mother Country: Real Stories of the Windrush Children, longlisted for the 2019 Jhalak Prize.

Timi Sotire is a freelance journalist and editor, whose work is focused on music and culture. With bylines in The Guardiangal-demNME and others, she's written profiles on upcoming artists like Bree Runway and Tiana Major9, as well the industry greats Jazmine Sullivan and Dua Lipa.

  • Black Joy

  • "Black joy is the infectious laughter of my mum and aunty. It is my dad telling me to be proud of my heritage. It is the feeling of hopping along to my first 'Candy' dance. It is stepping off the plane in Jamaica."

    BLACK JOY: A CELEBRATION OF BLACK CULTURE FROM 28 INCREDIBLE WRITERS

    Edited by award-winning journalist Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff and up-and-coming talent Timi Sotire, join twenty-eight inspirational voices in this uplifting and empowering anthology as they come together to celebrate being Black British, sharing their experiences of joy and what it means to them.

    With incredible stories and essays from:

    - Diane Abbott
    - Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé -
    - Munya Chawawa
    - Chanté Joseph
    - Vanessa Kisuule
    - Jason Okundaye
    - Leigh-Anne Pinnock
    - Timi Sotire
    - Sophia Tassew

    And, many more.

    Discover this exciting, much-needed celebration of Black culture perfect for readers of Feminists Don't Wear Pink, Slay in Your Lane and Love in Colour.

    "A refreshing and invigorating burst of joy, exploring the beauty in the nuances of our existence, honing in on what propels us forward, and establishing a vital hope." - Bolu Babalola, author of Love in Colour

    "Every bit as joyous as the title suggests'" - Candice Carty-Williams, author of Queenie

    "Black Joy is wonderful, it is special. It is magical." - Munya Chawawa

    "Black Joy' is a delightful celebration of Black Britishness" - Mashable

  • Buy the book

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising