test

Don’t miss your chance to buy a reduced copy of BLACK JOY as part of your ticket. The book is only available to purchase online ahead of the event.

Love, literature, friendship, music, carnival, travel, dance, work, nature, food - Black Joy can be found in so many places. Join Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff and Timi Sotire in conversation at Soho House this September as they discuss what it was like to edit Black Joy, the first anthology of its kind.

BLACK JOY is a candid, contemporary and fresh perspective on race, identity, and belonging for the Black British community. Join us for this evening of celebration and conversation.

Charlie Brinkhurst-Cuff is an award-winning journalist, editor, features writer, columnist. She is currently a Senior Staff Editor at the New York Times and was formerly editor-in-chief of gal-dem weekend editor and writer at Dazed. She is the editor of Mother Country: Real Stories of the Windrush Children, longlisted for the 2019 Jhalak Prize.

Timi Sotire is a freelance journalist and editor, whose work is focused on music and culture. With bylines in The Guardiangal-demNME and others, she's written profiles on upcoming artists like Bree Runway and Tiana Major9, as well the industry greats Jazmine Sullivan and Dua Lipa.

  • Black Joy

  • Love, literature, friendship, music, carnival, travel, dance, work, nature, food - Black Joy can be found in so many places.


    Edited by award-winning journalist Charlie Brinkhust-Cuff and up-and-coming talent Timi Sotire, join twenty-eight inspirational voices in this uplifting and empowering anthology as they come together to celebrate being Black British, sharing their experiences of joy and what it means to them.


    With incredible pieces from:

    Diane Abbott - Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé - Fopé Ajanaku - Athian Akec - Travis Alabanza - Haaniyah Angus - Rukiat Ashawe - Bukky Bakray - Richie Brave - Munya Chawawa - Ruby Fatimilehin - Theophina Gabriel - Lauryn Green - Ife Grillo - Isaac James - Chanté Joseph - Vanessa Kisuule - Henrie Kwushue - Tobi Kyeremateng - Mikai McDermott - Jason Okundaye - Tope Olufemi - Melz Owusu - Leigh-Anne Pinnock - Mayowa Quadri - Lavinya Stennett - Timi Sotire - Sophia Tassew

    An exciting, much-needed collection of writing perfect for readers of Feminists Don't Wear Pink, Slay in Your Lane and Love in Colour.

  • Buy the book

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising