test

Acclaimed novelist Marlon James returns to the Southbank Centre to discuss the second book in his revolutionary Dark Star Trilogy: Moon Witch, Spider King.

Join the Man Booker prize-winning author as he discusses the rich tradition of African mythology, fantasy and history.

In this highly anticipated follow-up to the Number 1 bestseller Black Leopard, Red Wolf, James once again allows us to imagine a mythic world with a lost child, a 177-year-old witch, a deadly regal chancellor, and a peculiar mystery with many answers...

Part adventure tale, part chronicle of an indomitable woman – the witch Sogolon – who bows to no man, this is an unforgettable exploration of power, personality, and the places where they overlap. 

Marlon James is the author of the New York Times bestseller A Brief History of Seven Killings, The Book of Night Women, and John Crow's Devil. A Brief History of Seven Killings won the Man Booker Prize, the American Book Award and the Anisfield-Wolf Award for Fiction. The Book of Night Women won the Minnesota Book Award. He is a professor at Macalester College in St Paul, and divides his time between Minnesota and New York.

'A game-changing modern fantasy classic' - Financial Times

‘A fantasy world as well realized as anything Tolkien made, with language as powerful as Angela Carter's' – Neil Gaiman

  • Moon Witch, Spider King

    Dark Star Trilogy

  • THE SECOND NOVEL IN THE REVOLUTIONARY DARK STAR TRILOGY IS HERE!

    Booker Prize-winner Marlon James once again draws on a rich tradition of African mythology and fantasy to imagine a mythic world, a lost child, a 177-year-old witch and a mystery with many answers . . .

    *Perfect for fans of Pratchett, George R. R. Martin and Octavia Butler*

    'Even more gripping and inventive than its predecessor . . . like Tolkien on ayahuasca' Observer

    *****

    Part adventure, part chronicle of an indomitable woman - the witch Sogolon - who bows to no man, this is an unforgettable exploration of power, personality, and the places where they overlap, set in a world at once ancient and startlingly modern.

    In the words of Neil Gaiman, James has created 'a fantasy world as well-realized as anything Tolkien made, with language as powerful as Angela Carter's'.

    Chronicling the same events but telling a very different story - who will you believe? Read THE DARK STAR TRILOGY in any order! Book one, BLACK LEOPARD, RED WOLF, is available now.

    *****

    'Moving, vivid, and thought-provoking . . . brilliant' Buzzfeed

    'James masterfully flips the first instalment on its head . . . [A] titanic story of empire, adventure and power' Esquire

    'Told with James' inimitable linguistic verve . . . Riotous, ultraviolent, dazzlingly inventive' Literary Hub

  • Buy the book

Read more

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here


Strictly Necessary


Analytics


Preferences & Features


Targeting / Advertising