Damon Galgut

Small Circle of Beings
  • Small Circle of Beings

  • Small Circle of Beings is the first collection of extraordinary stories from one of the greatest writers of our time. With astonishing clarity, Galgut explores both the intimacies and violence of family life against the complex landscape of 1980s South Africa.

    From a mother who experiences a devastating unmooring after her child falls gravely ill, to a son retracing his late father's brief yet passionate affair, the stories ripple out from one another, tenderly exposing those bonds we cannot escape.


    'Galgut seems to deliver effortlessly...there's nothing he can't do' Times

    'Damon Galgut is very nearly without peer...an essential writer' Garth Greenwell

    'Terrifically agile and consistently interesting...certainly up there with Nadine Gordimer and JM Coetzee' Guardian

DAMON GALGUT is the author of nine novels. He won the Booker Prize 2021 for The Promise, having been shortlisted for the prize twice before (The Good Doctor and In A Strange Room). He lives and works in Cape Town.

We use cookies on this site to enable certain parts of the site to function and to collect information about your use of the site so that we can improve our visitors’ experience.

For more on our cookies and changing your settings click here

Strictly Necessary


Preferences & Features

Targeting / Advertising