The Wrong Pong

The Wrong Pong

Summary

The Wrong Pong by Steven Butler is a laugh-out-loud, stinky story for 5+ girls and boys.

One night, Neville Brisket wakes up from a strange dream - a dream that there is a horrible, stumpy finger stuck up his nose. Then he finds his room in a mess, and his dog in the laundry basket.

Neville's investigations end sposhily, when he is whooshed down the toilet to the land of Under! In a case of mistaken troll-dentity, he finds himself part of a disgusting new family. Will anybody help Neville get back to Over, or will he be stuck eating rat patties and left sock stew forever?

This hilariously delivered tale will delight and disgust parents and children alike. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Horrid Henry.

'Horrid Henry's favourite book!' - Francesca Simon, author of Horrid Henry

'A triumphant debut which will have children clutching the loo-seat in apprehension and laughter' - Amanda Craig, The Times


Steven Butler is an actor, dancer and trained circus performer as well as a keen observer of trolls and their disgusting habits. He has starred in Peter Pan, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, and as Henry in Horrid Henry Live and Horrid! His primary school headmaster was fantastically funny author Jeremy Strong.

Reviews

  • Horrid Henry's favourite book!
    Francesca Simon, author of 'Horrid Henry'

About the authors

Steven Butler

Steven is the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award-winning author of The Nothing to See Here Hotel as well as The Diary of Dennis the Menace series and The Wrong Pong series, which was shortlisted for the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. He's also an actor, dancer and trained aerialist as well as a keen observer of trolls and their disgusting habits. His primary school headmaster was the fantastically funny author Jeremy Strong. Steven lives in London.
Learn More

Chris Fisher (Illustrator)

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more