Stormbird

Stormbird

The Wars of the Roses (Book 1)

Summary

THE EPIC FIRST INSTALMENT IN THE THRILLING WAR OF THE ROSES SERIES, PERFECT FOR FANS OF GAME OF THRONES, BERNARD CORNWELL & WOLF HALL

King Henry V - the great Lion of England - is dead.

It's up to his son to take the throne, but frail in body and mind, he is dependent on his supporters to run his kingdom.

Richard, Duke of York, believes that without a strong king England will fall.

And as the threat from France grows, and rebellion on home soil spreads, his fears seem justified.

Who can save the throne?

Who will defend the kingdom?



Praise for Conn Iggulden:

'This is energetic, competent stuff; Iggulden knows his material and his audience' Independent

'Iggulden is in a class of his own when it comes to epic, historical fiction' Daily Mirror

'An absolutely cracking story' The Times

Reviews

  • Pacey and juicy, and packed with action
    Sunday Times

About the author

Conn Iggulden

Conn Iggulden is one of the most successful authors of historical fiction writing today. He has written four previous bestselling historical series, including Wars of the Roses. Dunstan is a stand-alone novel set in the red-blooded world of tenth-century England, and The Falcon of Sparta is a stand-alone in which Iggulden returns to the Ancient World. Both instalments of Conn's Athenian series, The Gates of Athens and Protector, were instant Sunday Times bestsellers. The Lion is the first book in Conn's epic new series, The Golden Age.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more