Natural Causes

Natural Causes

Inspector McLean 1

Summary

The dead don't always rest in peace . . . Discover the gripping Richard and Judy pick, and first thriller in the bestselling Inspector McLean series

From the Sunday Times bestseller comes an electrifying crime thriller for fans of Ian Rankin, Peter James and Stuart MacBride

'A gripping, captivating page-turner' 5***** READER REVIEW
'Murder, malevolence and great detection'
5***** READER REVIEW
'Grips you from the very beginning'
5***** READER REVIEW
_______

Edinburgh is horrified by a series of bloody killings.

Deaths for which there appears to be neither rhyme nor reason, and which leave the city's police stumped.

DI Tony McLean is focused on the investigation, but his attention is drawn by a chilling cold case:

A young girl, ritualistically murdered.

Her remains hidden for sixty years.


It seems impossible that there could be any connection between the cases, but McLean starts to wonder . . .

Because if it's true, they might be facing an evil beyond anything they ever imagined.
_______

Praise for James Oswald:

'Crime fiction's next big thing'
Sunday Telegraph

'Oswald is among the leaders in the new batch of excellent Scottish crime writers'
Daily Mail

'The hallmarks of Val McDermid or Ian Rankin: it's dark, violent, noirish'
Herald

'An excellent start to what promises to be a fine series'
Guardian

'The new Ian Rankin' Daily Record

About the author

James Oswald

James Oswald is the author of the Inspector McLean series of crime novels. The first seven, Natural Causes, The Book of Souls, The Hangman's Song, Dead Men's Bones, Prayer for the Dead, The Damage Done and Written in Bones are available as Penguin paperbacks and ebooks. He has also written an epic fantasy series, The Ballad of Sir Benfro, which is published by Penguin, as well as comic scripts and short stories.

In his spare time he runs a 350-acre livestock farm in north-east Fife, where he raises pedigree Highland Cattle and New Zealand Romney sheep.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more