Wilder than Midnight

Wilder than Midnight

Summary


Brought to you by Penguin.

A bold and evocative new adventure novel from Cerrie Burnell, celebrating difference and found family. Perfect for fans of Sophie Anderson, Katherine Rundell and Catherine Doyle.


Silverthorne is a place of secrets. A forest of twisting paths and tangled thorns. A castle with locked towers and whispers of tragedy. A village trapped between terrors known and unknown. But something is stirring in the leaves . . .

Wild Rose, raised by wolves, refuses to live hidden within the confines of the forest any longer.
Aurelia, locked in the castle tower, dreams of escaping the fate she's told awaits her.

Together, they will change life in Silverthorne forever.

© Cerrie Burnell 2022 (P) Penguin Audio 2022

Reviews

  • An absolutely enchanting tale. I love how Cerrie has reimagined familiar fairytales with fresh wonder and woven them together with starlight, wildness, and an inspiring band of feisty heroines! I adored it. I'm sure readers are going to devour it.
    Tamzin Merchant, author of The Hatmakers

About the author

Cerrie Burnell

Cerrie Burnell is an author, actor and ambassador. During her time on CBeebies she broke down barriers, challenged stereotypes and overcame discrimination to become one of the most visible presenters on children's TV. She has been listed by the Observer as one of the top ten children's presenters of all time.

Cerrie is the author of thirteen children's books including her first non-fiction title, the award-winning I Am Not a Label; Snowflakes, which she adapted for the stage; as well as the Harper series, which was selected for a World Book Day title.

She also wrote and starred in the play Winged: A Fairytale, as well as creating the one-woman show The Magical Playroom, which premiered at the Edinburgh Fringe.

In 2017 Cerrie was awarded an honorary degree for Services to Media from the Open University. She is a patron of Polka Theatre and has been an author-in-residence at Great Ormond Street Hospital.

Since leaving CBeebies in 2017, Cerrie has appeared on television in Doctors and made the eye-opening documentary Silenced: The Hidden Story of Disabled Britain. In 2021 Cerrie joined the BBC's Creative Diversity team as one of their new Disability Ambassadors.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more