Golden Girls

Golden Girls

a compelling and emotional Yorkshire saga from multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes

Summary

Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale, Rosie Goodwin and Dilly Court, this is a heartfelt novel of one woman's will to find her way in life by multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes. Perfect to settle down with!

READERS ARE LOVING THE GOLDEN GIRLS!
'Brilliant book by a great author. Loved every bit of it' -- ***** Reader review
'Could not put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'I enjoyed every minute' -- ***** Reader review

*******************************************************************************************************
ONE WOMAN'S DETERMINATION TO BUILD A BETTER LIFE FOR HER FAMILY.

Widowed at twenty-three with three small daughters, Eleanor is reduced by poverty, hunger and worry to going to Akersfield market and asking market gardener Dick Fletcher for help - Dick who had loved her in the past, but who is now engaged to someone else.

Dick takes her back home to her village in the Dales, gives her a job and helps her to gain her self-respect again.

But she knows she must eventually stand on her own two feet - make a life for herself and her daughters without him,

Will she find the courage and determination to build a better life...and ultimately pay back Dick for his ultimate act of kindness?

About the author

Elvi Rhodes

Elvi Rhodes was born and educated in Yorkshire. She is the author of many bestselling novels including Opal, Doctor Rose, Ruth Appleby, The Golden Girls, Madeleine, The House of Bonneau, Cara's Land, The Rainbow Through the Rain, The Bright One, The Mountain, Portrait of Chloe, Spring Music, Midsummer Meeting, The Birthday Party, Mulberry Lane, A Blessing In Disguise and The Apple Tree. A collection of stories, Summer Promise and Other Stories, is also published by Corgi Books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more