The Birthday Party

The Birthday Party

a beautifully evocative and enthralling trip down memory lane from multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes…

Summary

An emotional story of recollections and reminiscences, The Birthday Party sees multi-million copy seller Elvi Rhodes at her heart-warming best. Fans of Rosamunde Pilcher, Maeve Binchy and Erica James will not be disappointed.

Readers are loving THE BIRTHDAY PARTY!
'I just couldn't put this book down' -- ***** Reader review
'Keeps you interested right up to the very last word' -- ***** Reader review
'Wonderful' -- ***** Reader review

**************************************************************************************************
A LANDMARK BIRTHDAY BRINGS BACK MEMORIES - SOME HAPPIER THAN OTHERS

Poppy's family is gathering to celebrate her eightieth birthday. Her children, grandchildren and even one great-grandchild are converging on her Sussex home.

As she prepares to welcome them all, her mind goes back over her life - to her tough childhood in Yorkshire; to her mother - who scrimped and saved to bring her up decently; to her three husbands and to Alun, the great love of her life who was taken from her by the war.

Yes, she has had a full life - a lot fuller than her family realises.

As they toast their beloved matriarch, little do they know what an extraordinary and often shocking life she has led...

About the author

Elvi Rhodes

Elvi Rhodes was born and educated in Yorkshire. She is the author of many bestselling novels including Opal, Doctor Rose, Ruth Appleby, The Golden Girls, Madeleine, The House of Bonneau, Cara's Land, The Rainbow Through the Rain, The Bright One, The Mountain, Portrait of Chloe, Spring Music, Midsummer Meeting, The Birthday Party, Mulberry Lane, A Blessing In Disguise and The Apple Tree. A collection of stories, Summer Promise and Other Stories, is also published by Corgi Books.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more