Matthew And Son

Matthew And Son

a touching story of tragedy and redemption set in the North West from bestselling author Ruth Hamilton

Summary

Help comes from a curious source after a family tragedy in this heart-wrenching but wholesome saga. From the SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER, Ruth Hamilton, perfect for fans of Catherine Cookson, Dilly Court and Josephine Cox.

'Very much the successor to Catherine Cookson. Her books are plot driven, they just rip along; laughs, weeps, love, they've got the lot, and they're quality writing as well' - SARAH BROADHURST, RADIO FOUR


'
I have read about five books by Ruth Hamilton but this one I have enjoyed the most... it was so touching' - ***** Reader Review

'
A very enjoyable book - I read it very quickly as it the story is so captivating.' - ***** Reader Review

'
Ruth's usual high standard. An engrossing and enjoyable read.' - ***** Reader Review

****************************************************

HOW CAN SHE HELP A GRIEVING FAMILY?

When Matthew's beloved wife Molly died, her son Mark grieved as much as anyone.

Since he was a small boy his mother had suffered from the illness that eventually took her, and now at sixteen, Mark longed to earn his father's respect by assisting with the family business. But his father, in grief, seemed beyond help.

Tilly Povey, famous for her whiplash tongue, watched the boy's lonely existence with a heavy heart. Stella, Molly's sister, now a doctor, she had always loved Matthew, and also wondered whether he might, perhaps, turn to her in his hour of need.

Matthew, obsessed with his loss, was gradually falling apart and none of those who were closest to him could, it seemed, do anything to help. But Tilly, whose uncompromising exterior hid a warm heart, was determined to help this troubled family...

About the author

Ruth Hamilton

Ruth Hamilton became one of the north-west of England's most popular writers, her bestselling books include With Love From Ma Maguire, A Crooked Mile and Dorothy’s War. Ruth Hamilton was born in Bolton, which is the setting for many of her novels, and spent most of her life in Lancashire before moving to Liverpool. She died in 2016.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more