The Three Crowns

The Three Crowns

(The Stuart saga: book 5): a compelling and powerful depiction of a pivotal moment in British history from the undisputed Queen of British historical fiction

Summary

Captivating in its historical detail, lush and sweeping in its scope, and unforgettable in its dramatic depiction of relationships between monarchs and families, The Three Crowns is the singular story of the only joint sovereigns in British history. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.

'Plaidy has brought the past to life' -- Times Literary Supplement

'Plaidy excels at blending history with romance and drama' -- New York Times
'Jean Plaidy conveys the texture of various patches of the past with such rich complexity' -- Guardian
'Absolute heaven' -- ***** Reader review
'Another wonderful book from a brilliant writer' -- ***** Reader review
'Fantastic' -- ***** Reader review

*******************************************************************************************
When an empire is at stake, one woman stands between the past and the future.

In post-Restoration England, King Charles II has fathered numerous children, but not a single legitimate heir. So it falls to his brother, James, Duke of York, to head the thrones of England, Scotland, and Ireland-the three crowns of Britain. But James's devout Catholicism, and desire to return Britain to the rule of Rome, does not sit well with his subjects and his time as king is sure to be short.

Born leader and brilliant soldier, William of Orange, has a plan... By marrying Mary, James' fifteen-year-old daughter and heir, he will position himself perfectly to seize the English crown.
Mary must also decide how much power to cede to William, should she keep him as Consort or let him rule beside her as King?

The Stuart saga continues with The Haunted Sisters.

Reviews

  • Jean Plaidy, by the skilful blending of superb storytelling and meticulous attention to authenticity of detail and depth of characterisation has become one of the country’s most widely read novelists.
    Sunday Times

About the author

Jean Plaidy

Jean Plaidy, one of the preeminent authors of historical fiction for most of the twentieth century, is the pen name of the prolific English author Eleanor Hibbert, also know as Victoria Holt. Jean Plaidy's novels had sold more than 14 million copies worldwide by the time of her death in 1993.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more