Not a Happy Family

Not a Happy Family

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

The chilling Sunday Times bestseller perfect for fans of Knives Out. A Richard & Judy Book Club pick.


The new unputdownable thriller from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of THE COUPLE NEXT DOOR.

In this family, everyone is keeping secrets - even the dead.

In the quiet, wealthy enclave of Brecken Hill, an older couple is brutally murdered hours after a tense Easter dinner with their three adult children. Who, of course, are devastated.

Or are they? They each stand to inherit millions. They were never a happy family, thanks to their vindictive father and neglectful mother, but perhaps one of them is more disturbed than anyone knew. Did someone snap after that dreadful evening? Or did another person appear later that night with the worst of intentions? That must be what happened. After all, if one of the family were capable of something as gruesome as this, you'd know.

Wouldn't you?

Praise for Shari Lapena:

'In this fast-paced, twisted family saga, Shari Lapena keeps you guessing until the very last page...' Paula Hawkins

'The queen of the one-sit read' Linwood Barclay

'Shari Lapena is one of the best thriller writers in the business' Steve Cavanagh

'A masterful whodunnit, perfectly paced and expertly plotted, that had me guessing all the way through. I loved it and couldn't put it down.' C L Taylor

'No-one does suburban paranoia like Shari Lapena - this slowly unfurling nightmare will have you biting your nails until the end' Ruth Ware

'Shari Lapena just gets better and better' Cara Hunter

© Shari Lapena 2021 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

Reviews

  • Nobody does a vicious family circle like Shari Lapena. Highly recommended
    Cara Hunter

About the author

Shari Lapena

Shari Lapena is the internationally bestselling author of the thrillers The Couple Next Door, A Stranger in the House, An Unwanted Guest, Someone We Know, The End of Her, Not a Happy Family and Everyone Here is Lying which have all been Sunday Times and New York Times bestsellers. Her books have been sold in forty territories around the world. She lives in Toronto.

Facebook: ShariLapena
Twitter: @sharilapena
Instagram: sharilapena
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more