Act Your Age

Act Your Age

The Complete BBC Radio panel game show


The BBC Radio 4 comedy panel show that pits three comic generations against each other, presented by Simon Mayo

Simon Mayo hosts a comedic battle between three teams to find out which is the funniest generation. Will the Up and Comers, the Current Crop or the Old Guard be crowned as the Golden Age of Comedy?

In these eighteen episodes, the contestants share their favourite jokes, trade comedic banter and go up against each other in quickfire rounds including ‘Generation Why’, in which they use stand-up to point out the shortcomings of their generation, ‘Against the Clock’, where two comedians compete against each other to get their laughs in the shortest time and ‘Dear Simon’, which sees the panellists turn agony aunt (or uncle) to try and solve a listener’s problem.

Team captains include Jon Richardson, Holly Walsh, Lucy Porter, Rufus Hound, Roy Walker, Adrian Walsh, Johnnie Casson, Tom O’Connor and Ted Robbins, while among the guest panellists are Barry Cryer, Sarah Millican, Milton Jones, Josie Long, Ed Byrnes, Russell Kane, Jack Whitehall, Cannon and Ball and Norman Lovett.

Presented by Simon Mayo
Programme consultants: Jed Parsons, Stephen Carlin, John-Luke Roberts, Lee Stuart Evans, Lucy Clarke, Will Ing
Devised and produced by Ashley Blaker and Bill Matthews

Series 1
Jon Richardson, Lucy Porter, Roy Walker, Josh Howie, Stephen K Amos, Barry Cryer, Sarah Millican, Milton Jones, Adrian Walsh, Josie Long, Ed Byrne, Mick Miller, Justin Moorhouse, Holly Walsh, Johnnie Casson, Russell Kane, Phil Nichol, Stephen Hall, Rhod Gilbert, Stan Boardman

Series 2
Jon Richardson, Lucy Porter, Adrian Walsh, Johnnie Casson, Kevin Bridges, Jason Byrne, Holly Walsh, Jack Whitehall, Sarah Kendall, Ronnie Golden, Ed Byrne, Jared Christmas, Mark Watson, Eddie Large, Mike Wozniak, Robin Ince, Ted Robbins, Tom Wrigglesworth, John Bishop, Tom O’Connor, Roy Walker, Hills Barker, Rufus Hound, Tommy Cannon and Bobby Ball

Series 3
Holly Walsh, Lucy Porter, Tom O’Connor, Henry Paker, Miles Jupp, Duggie Brown, Jon Richardson, Andi Osho, Rufus Hound, Andrew Maxwell, Ted Robbins, Roger De Courcey, Nookie Bear, Sean Walsh, Hal Cruttenden, Dave Spikey, Tom Deacon, Henning Wehn, Billy Pearce, Carl Donnelly, Justin Edwards, Norman Lovett, Andrew Lawrence, Paul Foot, Stew Francis

First broadcast BBC Radio 4: 27 November 2008-1 January 2009 (Series 1), 19 January-23 February 2010 (Series 2), 23 March-27 April 2011 (Series 3)

About the author

BBC Radio Comedy

Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more