Are You Happy Now

Are You Happy Now

The newest novel from the author of The Last. For fans of Emily John St. Mandel, Sally Rooney and Patricia Lockwood

Summary

At a New York City wedding, in early summer, four people are trying to get their lives started.

Yun has everything he ever wanted, but somehow it's never enough.
Emory is finally making her mark, but feels the shame more than the success.
Andrew just wants to be honest, but has lied to himself his whole life.
Fin can't resist falling in love, but can't help wrecking it all either.

That night they see something none of them can explain. Someone sits down, and simply gives up. Soon it's happening all around them. Is it an illness, or a decision?

How can anyone really be happy when the only choice is to feel everything - or
nothing at all?


An intensely compulsive novel for anyone who has ever felt hopeful and helpless in one breath, ARE YOU HAPPY NOW is about how you keep living when the world is on fire. Perfect for fans of Emily John St. Mandel's Station Eleven, Kazuo Ishiguro's Never Let Me Go, Patricia Lockwood's Nobody is Talking About This and Naomi Alderman's The Power.

Reviews

  • Extraordinary
    Emily St John Mandel on THE LAST

About the author

Hanna Jameson

Hanna Jameson wrote her first book at the age of seventeen, which was later nominated for the John Creasey Dagger Award. She's a bestselling author (Something You Are, Girl Seven, Those Crazy Freeways, The Last) and is currently working on screen projects. Hanna is a blackbelt in Taekwondo and ordained Reverend. She speaks three languages to an extremely mediocre level. No, you are not allowed to know where she lives. Do not approach. Considered armed and dangerous. Her next book, Are You Happy Now, is out in 2023.
Learn More

More from this Author

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more