The Girls Who Disappeared

The Girls Who Disappeared

‘I loved this twisty novel’ Richard Osman

Summary

THE NO. 1 SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
THE GRIPPING RICHARD AND JUDY BOOK CLUB PICK
FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE COUPLE AT NO 9


'I loved this twisty novel' RICHARD OSMAN
'Clever. Gripping. Terrifically compelling. Kept me glued to the page' SARAH PEARSE
'An unputdownable thriller. Spine-tingling mystery' GRAZIA BOOK CLUB
'A cleverly plotted dark and twisty thriller that will keep you guessing until the end' ALICE FEENEY
'Eerie, spine-tingling. Douglas is a master storyteller. The perfect immersive read' JANICE HALLETT
_________

THREE GIRLS MISSING

Twenty years ago, Olivia Rutherfood crashed her car while driving home with three friends.
When she regained consciousness, she was alone - her friends had vanished.

THEY WERE NEVER SEEN AGAIN

Now, journalist Jenna Halliday visits the town where it happened, determined to unlock the girls' disappearance.

But Olivia won't speak. And as Jenna probes further, the locals grow frightened . . .

How many secrets can one small town hide?
_________

'Douglas is the queen of the unexpected twist, and this is her best wrongfooting yet' GILLIAN MCALLISTER

'A chillingly dark plot with a killer twist, I was totally gripped throughout' HEIDI PERKS

'A deliciously dark, captivating and twisty mystery from the Queen of Gripping Pageturners' CL TAYLOR

'Clever . . . Adventurous . . . Fans of Douglas's bestseller, The Couple at No 9, will enjoy her particularly lively female characters and twisty plot' DAILY MAIL

'Moody, menacing and gothic . . . A chillingly atmospheric thriller' JP DELANEY

'Spine-chilling . . . A twisty plot and unnerving undertones make this an unforgettable read' CULTUREFLY

'A fabulous book. Brilliantly plotted, heart-wrenchingly emotional, and with a central premise to die for. This delivered by the armful. I loved it!' GYTHA LODGE

'I was hooked from the first page and turned the last with my head reeling at the fiendishly clever ending. Atmospheric, haunting and endlessly surprising, I loved it' EVE CHASE

'Absorbing, atmospheric . . . A tense, spine-chilling mystery' GILLY MACMILLAN

READERS ARE GRIPPED BY THE GIRLS WHO DISAPPEARED:

'Totally gripping from start to finish, twists and turns galore' 5***** READER REVIEW

'I was gripped from the very beginning' 5***** READER REVIEW

'Another great keep-you-guessing read from a fabulous author' 5***** READER REVIEW

'It's getting harder and harder for thrillers to shock, but this one hit the mark. Fantastic' 5***** READER REVIEW

'A gripping story which kept me awake last night as I had to finish reading it!' 5***** READER REVIEW

'Masterful' 5***** READER REVIEW

Praise for Claire Douglas

'Devotees of domestic noir will love the multiple perspectives and shifts in time that Claire Douglas uses to complicate her nervy narrative' Sunday Times Crime Club
'Few people do psychological thrillers as claustrophobic and as creepy as Claire Douglas' Tim Weaver
'A gripping page-turner' Jane Fallon
'Smart and atmospheric' Gillian McAllister
'Spine-chilling' Sunday Times
'Intriguing. Twisting. Surprising. Touching' Dorothy Koomson
'Twisty, nail-biting and utterly absorbing' Louise O'Neill
'Claire is a mistress at weaving the reader into a web of domestic deceit' Jane Corry
'The perfect gripping holiday read' Lesley Pearse
'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train' Marie Claire

Reviews

  • I loved this twisty novel
    RICHARD OSMAN

About the author

Claire Douglas

Claire Douglas worked as a journalist for fifteen years, writing features for women's magazines and national newspapers, but had dreamed of being a novelist since the age of seven. She finally got her wish after winning the Marie Claire Debut Novel Award with her first novel, The Sisters.
She is a frequent Sunday Times bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club pick. Her books have sold nearly two million copies in the UK alone, and The Wrong Sister was a Sunday Times number 2 bestseller in hardback.
She lives in Bath with her husband and two children.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more