Wild East

Wild East

Summary

A soaring and emotional debut YA verse-novel, perfect for fans of Dean Atta and Manjeet Mann.

Pen in one hand, on my wrist, a ticking clock
I've got to make this work, just need a little luck...



When fourteen-year-old music-lover Ronny's life gets messy, his mum decides they're moving out of London.

In Norwich, as a Black teenager in a mostly white school, Ronny feels like a complete outsider. He tries his best to balance keeping his head down, and his goal of becoming a rapper alive.

But when a local poet comes into class, he opens Ronny's world to something new. Rap is like spoken word, lyrics equal poetry - and maybe the combination of both could be the key to Ronny's dreams?

About the author

Ashley Hickson-Lovence

Ashley Hickson-Lovence is a poet, novelist and university lecturer with a PhD in Creative and Critical Writing from the University of East Anglia. His debut novel The 392 was published with OWN IT! in April 2019 and his second novel Your Show was released with Faber in April 2022 and was longlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize and shortlisted for the East Anglian Book Awards. His third book, a young-adult novel-in-verse called Wild East, will be released with Penguin in 2024.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more