Wild East

Wild East

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

A soaring and emotional debut YA verse-novel, perfect for fans of Dean Atta and Manjeet Mann.


Pen in one hand, on my wrist, a ticking clock
I've got to make this work, just need a little luck...



When fourteen-year-old music-lover Ronny's life gets messy, his mum decides they're moving out of London.

In Norwich, as a Black teenager in a mostly white school, Ronny feels like a complete outsider. He tries his best to balance keeping his head down, and his goal of becoming a rapper alive.

But when a local poet comes into class, he opens Ronny's world to something new. Rap is like spoken word, lyrics equal poetry - and maybe the combination of both could be the key to Ronny's dreams?

©2024 Ashley Hickson-Lovence (P)2024 Penguin Audio

Reviews

  • A powerful story of resilience, friendship, discovery and growth...Ashley has that rare ability to draw you in quietly and leave you feeling totally invested. I’m certain that if I had this when I was younger it would have changed my life, genuinely
    Jeffrey Boakye, author of Kofi and the Rap Battle Summer

About the author

Ashley Hickson-Lovence

Ashley Hickson-Lovence is a novelist, poet, literary critic, and Lecturer of Creative Writing.
Wild East is his first YA verse-novel, and was partly inspired by his time as a secondary school English teacher, his own move from London to Norwich, and tutoring a group of asylum seekers at an Arvon retreat. Wild East also weaves in Ashley’s love of British hip hop.
Ashley has also written two adult novels, The 392, and Your Show, which was longlisted for the Gordon Burn Prize and shortlisted for the East Anglian Book Awards.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more