Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop

Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop

Book 4 in the uplifting WWII saga series from the bestselling author

Summary

**Catch up with Alice, Kate and Naomi in the fourth book in The Wartime Bookshop series - available for pre-order now.**
-----

January, 1942: Victoria is looking for a life away from the dangers of wartime London for herself and two orphaned children. Her search takes her to Churchwood in Hertfordshire which looks ideal but the village residents are already dealing with their own problems . . .



Alice is working hard to get the village bookshop back up and running after the previous premises were destroyed. The new building is in urgent need of repair and a builder has been hired but where is he and where is the money he was paid?



Kate is struggling to work out the next steps in her relationship with pilot Leo. Will he expect her to meet his parents? Knowing they are rich and elegant, Kate suspects they want their son’s sweetheart to be the same – not a country bumpkin like her with barely a penny to her name.


Meanwhile, Naomi shows kindness to Victoria and her evacuees but is she biting off more than she can chew, especially when she is confronted with a surprising intruder . . .

With so much trouble and uncertainty in the village, can Victoria and her little family find the safe haven they crave?

Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop is the third novel in the uplifting Wartime Bookshop series, perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest.
-----

Real readers LOVE The Wartime Bookshop series:

'BRILLIANT'

'I was swept away once again by the magic of Lesley Eames' storytelling prowess.'

'Oh I loved this book... please carry on the good writing'

'Outstandingly fabulous, warm and inviting'

'I was only two pages in when I knew this would be a 5 star read... I honestly can't put my excitement into words at the thought of reading the next one'

'Sitting down & opening the book is like rejoining your family. Such a good read.'

Reviews

  • Praise for The Wartime Bookshop series
    :-

About the author

Lesley Eames

Lesley is an author of historical sagas. Having previously written sagas set around the time of the First World War, she ventured into the Second World War period with her fifth book, The Wartime Bookshop. Originally from the north west of England (Manchester), Lesley's home is now Hertfordshire where The Wartime Bookshop's fictional village of Churchwood is set. Lesley is thrilled to have enjoyed success in competitions as varied as crime writing to writing for children. She is particularly honoured to have won the Festival of Romance New Talent Award, the Romantic Novelists' Association's Elizabeth Goudge Cup and to have been twice shortlisted in the UK Romantic Novel Awards (RONAs).
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more