The Wartime Bookshop

by 5 books in this series
#1 - The Wartime Bookshop
#1 - The Wartime Bookshop
Alice is nursing an injured hand and a broken heart when she moves to the village of Churchwood at the start of WWII. She is desperate to be independent but worries that her injuries will make that impossible.

Kate lives with her family on Brimbles Farm, where her father and brothers treat her no better than a servant. With no mother or sisters, and shunned by the locals, Kate longs for a friend of her own.

Naomi is looked up to for owning the best house in the village. But privately, she carries the hurts of childlessness, a husband who has little time for her and some deep-rooted insecurities.

With war raging overseas, and difficulties to overcome at home, friendship is needed now more than ever. Can the war effort and a shared love of books bring these women - and the community of Churchwood - together?
#2 - Land Girls at the Wartime Bookshop
#2 - Land Girls at the Wartime Bookshop
Churchwood has never needed The Wartime Bookshop, or its community, more. But when the bookshop comes under threat at the worst possible time, can Alice, Kate and Naomi pull together to keep spirits high?

Kate has always found life on Brimbles Farm difficult, but she is struggling more than ever to find time for the bookshop, for her friends - and especially for handsome pilot Leo Kinsella. Can two Land Girls help? Or will they be more trouble than they're worth?

Naomi has found new friends and purpose through the bookshop and is happier than she's been in a long time - until she finds evidence that her husband is being unfaithful. With old insecurities rearing up, she needs to uncover the truth.

Alice worries for her fiancé Daniel away fighting in the war and frets over the loss of her financial independence following an injury to her hand. With no job opportunities in Churchwood, might she find work somewhere else?
#3 - Christmas at the Wartime Bookshop
#3 - Christmas at the Wartime Bookshop
Alice, Kate and Naomi want to keep the magic of Christmas alive in their village of Churchwood, but a thief in the area and a new family that shuns the local community are only the first of the problems they face...

Naomi is fighting to free herself from Alexander Harrington - the man who married her for her money then kept a secret family behind her back. But will she be able to achieve the independence she craves?

Alice's dreams came true when she married sweetheart Daniel. Now he has returned to the fighting, but Alice is delighted to discover that she's carrying his child. Will the family make it through the war unscathed?

While Kate's life on Brimbles Farm has never been easy, she now has help from land girls Pearl and Ruby. But what will it mean for them all when Kate's brother returns from the war with terrible injuries? And why has pilot Leo, the man she loves, stopped writing?

As ever, the Wartime Bookshop is a source of community and comfort. But disaster is about to strike...
#4 - Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop
#4 - Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop
Victoria is looking for a life away from the dangers of wartime London for herself and two orphaned children. Her search takes her to Churchwood in Hertfordshire which looks ideal, but the village residents are already dealing with their own problems . . .

Alice is working hard to get the village bookshop back up and running after the previous premises were destroyed. The new building is in urgent need of repair and a builder has been hired, but where is he and where is the money he was paid?

Kate is struggling to work out the next steps in her relationship with pilot Leo. Will he expect her to meet his parents? Knowing they are rich and elegant, Kate suspects they'd want their son's sweetheart to be the same - not a country bumpkin like her with barely a penny to her name.

Meanwhile, Naomi shows kindness to Victoria and her evacuees but is she biting off more than she can chew, especially when she is confronted with a surprising intruder . . .

With so much trouble and uncertainty in the village, can Victoria and her little family find the safe haven they crave?

Evacuees at the Wartime Bookshop is the third novel in the uplifting Wartime Bookshop series, perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest
#5 - A Foundling at the Wartime Bookshop
#5 - A Foundling at the Wartime Bookshop
The fifth brilliantly heart-warming novel in the Wartime Bookshop series, perfect for fans of Maisie Thomas and Elaine Everest.

Victoria is astonished when she discovers an abandoned newborn baby on her doorstep, along with a note begging her to 'take care of little Rose'. Who is the mother? Victoria, Naomi and the Churchwood bookshop organising team set about trying to identify her, concerned for her welfare and hoping to give her a chance to reclaim her baby.

As they piece together the heartbreaking story, all sorts of surprises emerge. But they can't keep the baby a secret for long: can they reunite the little family before the authorities take Rose away?

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more