Our books on the Goodreads Choice Awards

Truly Madly Guilty

Liane Moriarty

*** Winner: Best Fiction Book in the Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 ***

Despite their differences, Erika and Clementine have been best friends since they were children. So when Erika needs help, Clementine should be the obvious person to turn to. Or so you'd think.

For Clementine, as a mother of a two desperately trying to practise for the audition of a lifetime, the last thing she needs is Erika asking for something, again.

But the barbecue should be the perfect way to forget their problems for a while. Especially when their hosts, Vid and Tiffany, are only too happy to distract them.

Which is how it all spirals out of control...

Praise for Truly Madly Guilty

'Straight-from-life characters, knife-sharp insight and almost unbearable suspense will have you racing through' Good Housekeeping

'Brilliant, stand-out, superbly clever. Moriarty writes vividly, wittily and wickedly' Sunday Express

'A staggeringly brilliant novel. It is literally unputdownable' Sophie Hannah

'A masterclass in teasing, drip-feed storytelling, this tale of three recognizably flesh-and-blood couples navigating the fallout of a disastrous social gathering is another triumph for Liane Moriarty. I loved every line of it' Louise Candlish

'A hell of a good book. Funny and scary' Stephen King

'Reading one [of Liane Moriarty's novels] is a bit like drinking a pink cosmo laced with arsenic . . . a fun, engaging and sometimes disturbing read' USA Today

''This book, about the tiny moments that can change your life, is perfect poolside fare' HELLO Magazine

Praise for Big Little Lies

'The author of last year's bestseller, The Husband's Secret, is back with another sure-fire hit. Unputdownable' The Sun on Sunday

'This fantastically written story, with its little clues casually dropped in along the way, will keep you guessing until the very end ... Another compelling, funny and thought-provoking winner from Liane Moriarty. Do whatever you can to get your hands on a copy - it's brilliant' Heat Magazine

'It's not often that a book about murder mingled with domestic and sexual violence has you howling with laughter, but Moriarty pulls it off here ... Her ironic turn of phrases infuses even poignant moments with humour. Blending romance, comedy and mystery, this is a wonderful book - full of brains, guts and heart' The Sunday Mirror

'Another riveting thriller. Tackling difficult subjects with intelligence and humanity' Hello Magazine

'A compelling summer read not to be missed' OK Magazine

'This addictive new thriller from bestselling author Liane Moriarty weaves three stories together to a shocking and unpredictable climax' Take A Break Magazine

The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo Book 1)

Rick Riordan

How do you punish an immortal?

By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disoriented, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus's favour.

But Apollo has many enemies - gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

Salt to the Sea

Ruta Sepetys

It's early 1945 and a group of people trek across Germany, bound together by their desperation to reach the ship that can take them away from the war-ravaged land. Four young people, each haunted by their own dark secret, narrate their unforgettable stories. Fans of The Book Thief or Helen Dunmore's The Siege will be totally absorbed.

This inspirational novel is based on a true story from the Second World War. When the German ship the Wilhelm Gustloff was sunk in port in early 1945 it had over 9000 civilian refugees, including children, on board. Nearly all were drowned. Ruta Sepetys, acclaimed author of Between Shades of Grey, brilliantly imagines their story.

When Breath Becomes Air

Paul Kalanithi

Selected as a New York Times Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Shortlisted for Waterstones Book of the Year

THE NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER

THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER


'Finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option...Unmissable' New York Times

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade’s training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with inoperable lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, the next he was a patient struggling to live.

When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi’s transformation from a medical student asking what makes a virtuous and meaningful life into a neurosurgeon working in the core of human identity – the brain – and finally into a patient and a new father.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when when life is catastrophically interrupted? What does it mean to have a child as your own life fades away?

Paul Kalanithi died while working on this profoundly moving book, yet his words live on as a guide to us all. When Breath Becomes Air is a life-affirming reflection on facing our mortality and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a gifted writer who became both.

Never Have I Ever with Dan and Phil

Most talked about

Penguin Platform

New videos every Thursday, giveaways, book chat, interviews and more!

Find us on...

YouTube     Twitter    

Instagram     Tumblr