Scotland Yard Murder Squad

by 5 books in this series
#1 - The Yard
#1 - The Yard
A new killer is haunting London's streets . . .

A year after Jack the Ripper claimed his last victim, London is in the grip of a wave of terror. The newly formed Murder Squad of Scotland Yard battles in vain against the tide of horror.

When the body of a detective is found, his lips sewn together and his eyes sewn shut, it becomes clear that no one is safe from attack. Has the Ripper returned - or is a new killer at large?

And for Walter Day, the young policeman assigned the case, is time running out?
#2 - The Black Country
#2 - The Black Country
When members of a prominent family disappear from a coal-mining village - and a human eyeball is discovered in a bird's nest - the local constable sends for help from Scotland Yard's new Murder Squad.

Inspector Walter Day and Sergeant Nevil Hammersmith respond, but they have no idea what they're about to get into. The villagers have intense, intertwined histories. Everybody bears a secret. Superstitions abound. And the village itself is slowly sinking into the mines beneath it.

Not even the arrival of forensics pioneer Dr Bernard Kingsley seems to help. In fact, the more the three of them investigate, the more they realize they may never be allowed to leave . . .
#3 - The Devil's Workshop
#3 - The Devil's Workshop
April, 1890.

London wakes to the shocking news of a mass prison escape.

Walter Day and the Scotland Yard Murder Squad now face a desperate race against time: if the four convicted murderers aren't recaptured before night settles, they'll vanish into the dark alleys of London's criminal underworld for ever.

And in the midst of this mayhem and fear the city's worst nightmare is realized: Jack the Ripper haunts the streets of London once more . . .
#4 - The Harvest Man
#4 - The Harvest Man
Spring 1890.

The spectre of Jack the Ripper still haunts Inspector Walter Day, his injured leg a daily reminder of his brush with London's most feared killer. Day alone is convinced that the Ripper remains at large.

But, worse is to come for Scotland Yard's Murder Squad. A new killer is terrorizing the citizens of London. They call him the Harvest Man; he hides away in the attics of the unsuspecting, emerging at night to mutilate his victims.

Inspector Day must confront his demons and clearly, as the Ripper toys with Scotland Yard's finest, the game has only just begun...
#5 - Lost and Gone Forever
#5 - Lost and Gone Forever
A man wakes in a cell.
He doesn't know who he is or how long he has been here.
He doesn't even know his name.
All he knows is that someone has left the cell door open . . .

No one has heard from the Ripper in a long time.
No one knows when he will strike again.
That's just how he wants it. For the Ripper has plans for the city and the man in the cell
- the man he believes is just like himself . . .

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more