Albert Camus

Caligula and Three Other Plays

Caligula and Three Other Plays


In restorative new translations by Ryan Bloom, four thought-provoking dramas from the Nobel Prize-winning author of The Outsider and The Plague are brought together for the first time in English, alongside deleted scenes and alternate lines of dialogue.

Beside Caligula, Camus' first full-length work for the stage, which explores the human heart and the nullifying force of time, this volume includes The Misunderstanding, a murderous tangle struck through with the longing for home and the desire to disappear; The Just, a test of the ethical limits of one's belief in a political cause; and State of Emergency, an allegorical romp where The Plague itself appears as a central character, shedding new light on our current battles with viral disease and authoritarian regimes.

More books from this author

View more