Charlotte Brontë

The Bronte BBC Radio Drama Collection
  • The Bronte BBC Radio Drama Collection

  • Charlotte Brontë

    The complete canon of the Brontë sisters' classic novels, dramatised by bestselling author Rachel Joyce

    Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
    Orphan Jane falls in love with the enigmatic Rochester, but he is concealing a dark secret.

    Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
    On the bleak Yorkshire moors, Heathcliff and Cathy’s elemental passion runs wild – but their obsession has devastating consequences.

    Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë
    Determined to make her way in the world, penniless young Agnes Grey becomes a governess.

    The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Brontë
    Gentleman farmer Gilbert Markham is powerfully drawn to Helen Graham, the mysterious resident of Wildfell Hall.

    Shirley by Charlotte Brontë
    A poignant tale of friendship, romantic entanglements and turbulent times, set in Yorkshire in 1811.

    Villette by Charlotte Brontë
    Leaving England to teach in Villette, Lucy Snowe experiences the pangs of unrequited love.

    The Professor by Charlotte Brontë
    As a teacher at a boarding-school in Belgium, William Crimsworth encounters trouble and true love.

    Adapted by Rachel Joyce, these radio dramas boast star casts including Ellie Kendrick, Amanda Hale, Tom Burke, Lesley Sharp, Paul Venables, Robert Lonsdale, Anna Maxwell Martin, Ben Batt and Chloe Pirrie.

    Also included is a one-hour bonus programme featuring Rachel Joyce in conversation with producer Tracey Neale.

Charlotte Brontë was born on 21 April 1816. Her father was curate of Haworth, Yorkshire, and her mother died when she was five years old, leaving five daughters and one son. In 1824 Charlotte, Maria, Elizabeth and Emily were sent to Cowan Bridge, a school for clergymen's daughters, where Maria and Elizabeth both caught tuberculosis and died. The children were taught at home from this point on and together they created vivid fantasy worlds which they explored in their writing. Charlotte worked as a teacher from 1835 to 1838 and then as a governess. In 1846, along with Emily and Anne, Charlotte published Poems by Currer, Ellis and Acton Bell.After this Emily wrote Wuthering Heights, Anne wrote Agnes Grey and Charlotte wrote The Professor. Wuthering Heights and Agnes Grey were both published but Charlotte's novel was initially rejected. In 1847 Jane Eyre became her first published novel and met with immediate success. Between 1848 and 1849 Charlotte lost her remaining siblings: Emily, Branwell and Anne. She published Shirley in 1849, Villette in 1853 and in 1854 she married the Rev. Arthur Bell Nicholls. She died the next year, on 31 March 1855.