The Couple at No 9

The Couple at No 9

The unputdownable and nail-biting Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

Summary

Brought to you by Penguin.

THE NEW HEART-POUNDING NOVEL FROM SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR, CLAIRE DOUGLAS

It was the house of their dreams. Until the bodies were found . . .

BODIES FOUND UNDER PATIO

When pregnant Saffron Cutler moves into 9 Skelton Place with boyfriend Tom and sets about renovations the last thing she expects is builders uncovering a body - two bodies, in fact.

POLICE INVESTIGATE

Forensics indicate the bodies have been buried at least thirty years. Nothing Saffy need worry herself over. Until the police launch a murder investigation and ask to speak to the cottage's former owner - her grandmother, Rose.

OWNER QUESTIONED

Rose is in a care home and Alzheimer's means her memory is increasingly confused. She can't help the police but it is clear she remembers something.

A KILLER AT LARGE?

As Rose's fragmented memories resurface, and the police dig ever deeper, Saffy fears she and the cottage are being watched.

What happened thirty years ago?

Why did no one miss the victims?

What part did her grandmother play?

And is Saffy now in danger?

Praise for Claire Douglas

'Few people do psychological thrillers as claustrophobic and as creepy as Claire Douglas'
Tim Weaver, bestselling author of No One Home

'Thrillingly tense and twisty' B. A. Paris, bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors

'Stunning . . . with a killer twist'
Closer

'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train'
Marie Claire

'Twisty, exciting yet so very real' Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of Anything You Do Say

© Claire Douglas 2021 (P) Penguin Audio 2021

Reviews

  • Spine-chilling . . . Douglas writes sensitively about dementia in this heartbreaking novel about how far a desperate woman will go to survive
    Sunday Times

About the author

Claire Douglas

Claire Douglas has worked as a journalist for fifteen years, writing features for women's magazines and national newspapers, but she's dreamed of being a novelist since the age of seven. She finally got her wish after winning the Marie Claire Debut Novel Award, with her first novel, The Sisters, which was followed by Local Girl Missing, Last Seen Alive, Do Not Disturb, Then She Vanishes and Just Like the Other Girls. Her latest novel, The Couple at No 9, was a Sunday Times top 3 bestseller and a Kindle number 1. She lives in Bath with her husband and two children.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more