The Couple at No 9

The Couple at No 9

The unputdownable and nail-biting Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

Summary

It was the house of their dreams. Now it's their worst nightmare . . .

THE GRIPPING NEW SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER AND CRIME BOOK OF THE MONTH

'A well-plotted tale . . . Intriguing. Twisty. Surprising. Touching. Enjoyed it' DOROTHY KOOMSON
'I couldn't think of anything else whilst reading this. The plot was so well crafted, the characters so realistic' 5***** READER REVIEW
'Secrets, skeletons, mothers and daughters - and some absolutely corking twists! A cracking thriller, I loved it' EVE CHASE
'Spine-chilling' SUNDAY TIMES
_________

When Saffron Cutler and boyfriend Tom move into 9 Skelton Place, they didn't expect to find this.

Two bodies, buried under the patio over thirty years ago.

When the police launch a murder investigation, they ask to speak to the cottage's former owner - Saffy's grandmother, Rose, whose Alzheimer's clouds her memory.

But it is clear she remembers something . . .

What happened thirty years ago?
What part did her grandmother play?
And is Saffy now in danger? . . .
_________

'This book has everything I love: murder, a taut and fiendishly clever plot and nail-biting tension' EMMA CURTIS

'Combines a tight, gripping, plot and truly shocking twist, with beautiful writing and emotion. A thriller with a heart' NUALA ELLWOOD

'A darkly absorbing mystery' CRIME MONTHLY

'Twisty, nail-biting, and utterly absorbing, you won't be able to put The Couple at No. 9 down' LOUISE O'NEILL

'Expansive, emotional, with one of the very best end twists I've ever read. Douglas at her heart-stopping best' GILLIAN MCALLISTER

'Devotees of domestic noir will love the multiple perspectives and shifts in time that Claire Douglas uses to complicate her nervy narrative' THE TIMES CRIME CLUB NEWSLETTER

'The perfect gripping holiday read' LESLEY PEARSE

Praise for Claire Douglas

'Few people do psychological thrillers as claustrophobic and as creepy as Claire Douglas' Tim Weaver, bestselling author of No One Home

'Thrillingly tense and twisty' B. A. Paris, bestselling author of Behind Closed Doors

'Stunning . . . with a killer twist' Closer

'Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train' Marie Claire

'Twisty, exciting yet so very real' Gillian McAllister, bestselling author of Anything You Do Say

Reviews

  • Spine-chilling . . . Douglas writes sensitively about dementia in this heartbreaking novel about how far a desperate woman will go to survive
    Sunday Times

About the author

Claire Douglas

Claire Douglas has worked as a journalist for fifteen years, writing features for women's magazines and national newspapers, but she's dreamed of being a novelist since the age of seven. She finally got her wish after winning the Marie Claire Debut Novel Award, with her first novel, The Sisters, which was followed by Local Girl Missing, Last Seen Alive, Do Not Disturb, Then She Vanishes and Just Like the Other Girls. Her latest novel, The Couple at No 9, was a Sunday Times top 3 bestseller and a Kindle number 1. She lives in Bath with her husband and two children.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more