No More Dying Then

No More Dying Then

a hugely absorbing and captivating Wexford mystery from the award-winning queen of crime, Ruth Rendell

Summary

Will you be able to get to the bottom of the mystery multi-million copy and SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Ruth Rendell presents in No More Dying Then? Fans of PD James, Ann Cleeves and Donna Leon will devour this with its compelling drama and intricately woven web of murder, mystery, clues and crimes...

'Ruth Rendell has quite simply transformed the genre of crime writing' --
Sunday Times
'Rendell never fails to come up trumps, and her millions of admirers will eagerly consume this offering as they have all the others.' -- The Irish Times
'Didn't want to stop reading it!' -- ***** Reader review
'Excellent book - had me gripped from the start' -- ***** Reader review
'Great writing as always by the mistress of crime novels' -- ***** Reader review
'A must read'-- ***** Reader review

******************************************************************************************

On a stormy February afternoon, little Stella Rivers disappears - never to be seen again. There are no clues, no demands and no traces. And there is nowhere for Wexford and his team to look. All that remains is the cold fear and awful dread that touches everyone in Kingsmarkham.

Just months later, another child vanishes - five-year-old John Lawrence. Wexford and Inspector Burden are launched into another investigation and, all too quickly, they discover chilling similarities to the Stella Rivers case.

Then the letters begin. The horrifying, evil, threatening letters of a madman.

And suddenly Wexford is fighting against time to find the missing boy, before he meets the same fate as poor Stella...

Reviews

  • One of the best novelists writing today
    P.D. James

About the author

Ruth Rendell

Ruth Rendell was an exceptional crime writer, and will be remembered as a legend in her own lifetime. Her groundbreaking debut novel, From Doon With Death, was first published in 1964 and introduced the reader to her enduring and popular detective, Inspector Reginald Wexford, who went on to feature in twenty-four of her subsequent novels.

With worldwide sales of approximately 20 million copies, Rendell was a regular Sunday Times bestseller. Her sixty bestselling novels include police procedurals, some of which have been successfully adapted for TV, stand-alone psychological mysteries, and a third strand of crime novels under the pseudonym Barbara Vine. Very much abreast of her times, the Wexford books in particular often engaged with social or political issues close to her heart.

Rendell won numerous awards, including the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger for 1976’s best crime novel with A Demon in My View, a Gold Dagger award for Live Flesh in 1986, and the Sunday Times Literary Award in 1990. In 2013 she was awarded the Crime Writers’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for sustained excellence in crime writing. In 1996 she was awarded the CBE and in 1997 became a Life Peer.

Ruth Rendell died in May 2015. Her final novel, Dark Corners, was published in October 2015.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more