The Best Man To Die

The Best Man To Die

an unmissable and unputdownable Wexford mystery from the award-winning Queen of Crime, Ruth Rendell

Summary

Another magnificently gripping and compelling thriller from multi-million copy and SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Ruth Rendell full of twists and turns and the odd red herring! An absolute must for fans of PD James, Ann Cleeves and Donna Leon.

'The mistress of Mystery' -- Daily Mirror

'The Wexford books clearly display Rendell's great mastery of storytelling at its best' -- Sunday Telegraph
'Rendell never fails to come up trumps' - The Irish Times
'Consistently readable with a nice twist at the end' -- Daily Mail
'Had me gripped from the start' -- ***** Reader review
'There is simply no such thing as a bad Ruth Rendell book. She is a phenomenon. A brilliant read as always.' -- ***** Reader review
'Great Read! Rendell never disappoints.' -- ***** Reader review

****************************************************************************
NOTHING IS EVER QUITE WHAT IT SEEMS...

A man and his daughter lie dead after a car accident. Strangely, no other car was involved and no cause has been found. Wexford's only option is to wait and hope that the one surviving victim - the mother, Mrs Fanshawe - regains consciousness.

But when she finally awakens six weeks later, Wexford's attention has already been distracted by a new and very violent case. Walking by the canal that same morning, Wexford discovered the bloody body of Charlie Hatton.

The two cases are obviously unrelated, although something is bothering Wexford and he can't work out why or what.

But just as he begins to wonder whether there could in fact be a connection, the unexpected occurs: the Fanshawe daughter, believed to be killed in the accident, appears at her mother's beside very much alive...

Reviews

  • One of the best novelists writing today
    P.D. James

About the author

Ruth Rendell

Ruth Rendell was an exceptional crime writer, and will be remembered as a legend in her own lifetime. Her groundbreaking debut novel, From Doon With Death, was first published in 1964 and introduced the reader to her enduring and popular detective, Inspector Reginald Wexford, who went on to feature in twenty-four of her subsequent novels.

With worldwide sales of approximately 20 million copies, Rendell was a regular Sunday Times bestseller. Her sixty bestselling novels include police procedurals, some of which have been successfully adapted for TV, stand-alone psychological mysteries, and a third strand of crime novels under the pseudonym Barbara Vine. Very much abreast of her times, the Wexford books in particular often engaged with social or political issues close to her heart.

Rendell won numerous awards, including the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger for 1976’s best crime novel with A Demon in My View, a Gold Dagger award for Live Flesh in 1986, and the Sunday Times Literary Award in 1990. In 2013 she was awarded the Crime Writers’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for sustained excellence in crime writing. In 1996 she was awarded the CBE and in 1997 became a Life Peer.

Ruth Rendell died in May 2015. Her final novel, Dark Corners, was published in October 2015.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more