Murder Being Once Done

Murder Being Once Done

an enthralling and engrossing Wexford mystery from the award-winning queen of crime, Ruth Rendell

Summary

Fans of PD James, Ann Cleeves and Donna Leon will love this compelling and captivating mystery from multi-million copy and SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author Ruth Rendell. Full of twists, turns and tension, it will get right under the skin and keep you hooked from page one...!

'The most brilliant mystery novelist of our time' -- Patricia Cornwell
'Probably the greatest...crime writer in the world' -- Ian Rankin
'[Wexford] has become an old friend who gets better with age' -- Herald
'Fabulous book that keeps you gripped until the very last page!' -- ***** Reader review
'Had my gripped from the start' -- ***** Reader review
'A brilliant book' -- ***** Reader review
'Quirky and fascinating' -- ***** Reader review
'A must read' -- ***** Reader review

*********************************************************************************************

It seems fitting that the final resting place of a girl's body should be in a graveyard. But this is no peaceful burial. This is a brutal murder scene.

Under strict orders from his doctor to indulge in no criminal investigation, Wexford is sent to London for a break away from the pressures of the Kingsmarkham police force. But then he discovers that his nephew Howard is heading the investigation into the macabre murder of Loveday Morgan, whose body was found abandoned in Kenbourne Cemetery.

Despite opposition from Howard and his team, Wexford is drawn to the case.

And when he unearths Loveday's connection to a religious cult whose leader was imprisoned for sexual absue, he relentlessly pursues this sinister new lead...

Reviews

  • One of the best novelists writing today
    P.D. James

About the author

Ruth Rendell

Ruth Rendell was an exceptional crime writer, and will be remembered as a legend in her own lifetime. Her groundbreaking debut novel, From Doon With Death, was first published in 1964 and introduced the reader to her enduring and popular detective, Inspector Reginald Wexford, who went on to feature in twenty-four of her subsequent novels.

With worldwide sales of approximately 20 million copies, Rendell was a regular Sunday Times bestseller. Her sixty bestselling novels include police procedurals, some of which have been successfully adapted for TV, stand-alone psychological mysteries, and a third strand of crime novels under the pseudonym Barbara Vine. Very much abreast of her times, the Wexford books in particular often engaged with social or political issues close to her heart.

Rendell won numerous awards, including the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger for 1976’s best crime novel with A Demon in My View, a Gold Dagger award for Live Flesh in 1986, and the Sunday Times Literary Award in 1990. In 2013 she was awarded the Crime Writers’ Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for sustained excellence in crime writing. In 1996 she was awarded the CBE and in 1997 became a Life Peer.

Ruth Rendell died in May 2015. Her final novel, Dark Corners, was published in October 2015.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more