The Whisperling

The Whisperling

Summary

'One of the best debuts I've read in YEARS!' - Emma Carroll

A ghostly adventure in a dark and dangerous Victorian world, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll,
Robin Stevens, and Jenni Spangler.

When you're dead, you're dead. When you're gone, you're gone.
Unless, of course, you're not.
And that's where I come in.


The year is 1897, and Peggy Devona can speak with ghosts.

She hides her gift from those afraid of a girl with such powers, terrified of the secrets the dead could reveal through her. But when her best friend is accused of murdering her rich mistress, Peggy knows only she - a whisperling - can save her.

Peggy escapes to her uncle's psychic emporium in the city, seeking out new ghosts to help her solve Sally's case.

Yet time is running out, and each step towards uncovering the truth also brings Sally one step closer to the gallows. . .

Reviews

  • I laughed, I shed a tear, I loved the brilliant ending (with the tantalising hope of a sequel). One of the best debuts I've read in YEARS!
    Emma Carroll

About the author

Hayley Hoskins

Long-listed for the Bath Children's Novel award, Hayley writes in the space between family and work, with much support from her writing group.
Mum to a teenage boy, she spends a disproportionate amount of time hoping that her son's life is far less complicated than those of the characters in her books, and trying to ensure he becomes a 'good egg'.
Originally from the Forest of Dean, Hayley lives with her family and hairy breeze-block of a dog in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire. The Whisperling is her debut novel.
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more