Bestsellers in 2017

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)

Jeff Kinney

The new hilarious story from Jeff Kinney is the best yet in the brilliant, bestselling Diary of a Wimpy Kid series!

Greg Heffley and his family are getting out of town.

With the cold weather setting in and the stress of the Christmas holiday approaching, the Heffleys decide to escape to a tropical island resort for some much-needed rest and relaxation. A few days in paradise should do wonders for Greg and his frazzled family.

But the Heffleys soon discover that paradise isn't everything it's cracked up to be. Sun-poisoning, stomach troubles and venomous creatures all threaten to ruin the family's vacation.

Can their trip be saved, or will this island getaway end in disaster?

Whether a loyal fan already or new to the Wimpy Kid books, THE GETAWAY is the perfect book for young readers this Christmas. With engaging writing, hilarious illustrations on every page and an action-packed holiday-based plot, THE GETAWAY is a winner.

Praise for Jeff Kinney:

'The world has gone crazy for Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Sun

'Kinney is right up there with J K Rowling as one of the bestselling children's authors on the planet' - Independent

'The most hotly anticipated children's book of the year is here - Diary of a Wimpy Kid' - Big Issue

'Hilarious' - Telegraph

The Creakers

Tom Fletcher (and others)

The darkly magical new story about the monsters under the bed, from bestselling author of The Christmasaurus, Tom Fletcher.

What silently waits in the shadows at night? What's under your bed, keeping just out of sight?

Do you ever hear strange, creaking noises at night? Ever wonder what makes those noises?
Lucy Dungston always did.
Until, one morning, Lucy discovers that all the grown-ups have disappeared - as if into thin air. Chaos descends as the children in Lucy's town run riot. It's mayhem. It's madness. To most kids, it's amazing!
But Lucy wants to find out the truth. Lucy lost her dad not long ago, and she's determined not to lose her mum too. She's going to get her back - and nothing is going to stop her . . .
. . . except maybe the Creakers.

The Christmasaurus

Tom Fletcher (and others)

The Christmasaurus is a story about a boy named William Trundle, and a dinosaur, the Christmasaurus. It's about how they meet one Christmas Eve and have a magical adventure. It's about friendship and families, sleigh bells and Santa, singing elves and flying reindeer, music and magic. It's about discovering your heart's true desire, and learning that the impossible might just be possible . . .

Ali-A Adventures

Ali-A (and others)

It's launch time for the hotly anticipated video game Alien Liberator 2, and who better to invite along than top gamer Ali-A? Ali is promised the biggest game launch ever - but what he doesn't count on is just how real the action is about to get!

When a merciless band of aliens turns up to spoil the party, it's up to Ali to transform from gaming icon to real-life hero. Can he defeat the end-of-game boss and save the day? With a little help from his fans and a very special dog named Eevee, he's going to give it his best shot!

New and forthcoming

The Magical Fantastical Fridge

Harlan Coben (and others)

#1 New York Times bestselling novelist Harlan Coben partners with a talented debut illustrator in this fantastical and funny adventure for fans of David Wiesner and William Joyce.

Have you ever noticed how magical your family fridge is?

Neither has Walden...until now.

Suddenly he finds himself transported into one of his own drawings on the fridge as he begins an unforgettable adventure.

He'll battle a crayon monster, catch an airplane ride into an old photo, escape a troop of monkeys and much more. All of the items displayed there have come alive to bring him a new understanding of his big, busy family.

You'll love studying the dynamic, detailed illustrations in this zany, surprise-filled journey that culminates in a heartfelt appreciation of those closest to us.

The Endless King (Knights of the Borrowed Dark Book 3)

Dave Rudden

The final book in the award-winning Knights of the Borrowed Dark trilogy, perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant.

'You have no idea what real war is . . . but I'm afraid you're going to find out.'

There's nothing like an apocalypse to kick off the school year.

Denizen Hardwick has travelled to Daybreak, the ancestral home of the Order of the Borrowed Dark, to continue his training as a knight. But lessons have barely begun before an unexpected arrival appears with news that throws the fortress into uproar.

The Endless King has fallen, his dark realm rising in a brutal civil war. When the conflict strikes closer to home, Denizen and his friends face their greatest challenge yet. For if Daybreak falls, so does the world . . .

'Action-packed, atmospheric and powerfully imagined' - Sunday Times

Plate Tectonics: A Ladybird Expert Book

Iain Stewart

Part of the new Ladybird Expert series, Plate Tectonics is an accessible and authoritative introduction to the fundamental theory of how our dynamic planet works.

Written by the celebrated geologist, academic and popular science presenter Iain Stewart, Plate Tectonics explores the Earth as a planetary machine and celebrates the people and ideas that changed the way we look at the world.

You'll learn about the puzzle pieces that make up the Earth today, monsoon-like currents in our planet's radioactive interior, magnetic force lines and how the ocean would look without water.

Written by the leading lights and most outstanding communicators in their fields, the Ladybird Expert books provide clear, accessible and authoritative introductions to subjects drawn from science, history and culture.

For an adult readership, the Ladybird Expert series is produced in the same iconic small hardback format pioneered by the original Ladybirds. Each beautifully illustrated book features the first new illustrations produced in the original Ladybird style for nearly forty years.

Brown Bear Lift-the-Flap

Bill Martin (and others)

Exuberantly coloured artwork and favourite animals make this rhythmic story the perfect introduction to looking and learning about colours. Each spread leads seamlessly into the next and young children will delight in Eric's colourful collage animals and simple repetitive language.

Spot Goes to the Swimming Pool

Eric Hill (and others)

Have fun with Spot and discover new experiences together!
Spot is going to the swimming pool with Mum and his smart new rubber ring. At first he feels a little nervous, but with a bit of support from Mum and friends soon Spot is splashing about and having a whale of a time!

Not Just a Book…

Jeanne Willis (and others)

A book is not just a book. It can be so many things, a hat or as a building block, a flower press or a fly-swatter. But books are so much more than that. They can make you feel, they can take you anywhere, they can make you laugh and can teach you anything you want to know.

Sing-along Nursery Rhymes

none (and others)

An illustrated compilation of 14 classic nursery rhymes. This chunky board book format is perfect for little ones, together with an audio CD so they can join in with every rhyme. Includes old favourites, actions rhymes, number rhymes, bedtime rhymes and many more.

Track listing:

Baa, Baa, Black Sheep
Ten Green Bottles
The Wheels on the Bus
The Grand Old Duke of York
Miss Polly Had a Dolly
Row, Row, Row Your Boat
Incy Wincy Spider
Three Blind Mice
Hush-a-Bye, Baby
Five Little Ducks
Peter Piper
Two Little Dicky Birds
One, Two, Three, Four, Five
Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star

Doctor Who: The Day She Saved the Doctor

Susan Calman (and others)

A companion: explores time and space with the Doctor, gets into trouble with the Doctor, fights enemies with the Doctor . . . And - more often than not - has to save his life.

Here are four fantastic new adventures with the Doctor, starring Rose, Sarah-Jane, Clara and Bill. Publishing on International Women's Day in March 2018, it will also be the perfect way to prepare for Jodie Whittaker's first ever female Doctor.

Written by Jenny Colgan, Jacqueline Rayner, Dorothy Koomson and Susan Calman, these stories are a celebration of the Doctor's fantastic female friends, for fans of all ages.

My Secret Unicorn: The Magic Spell

Linda Chapman (and others)

Most of the time, Twilight looks like an ordinary grey pony but when Lauren says the words of a spell he transforms into a magical unicorn and together they can fly all over the world . . .

Lauren Foster is excited about moving to her new home on a farm, especially now that her parents have promised that she can get a pony of her own! When she meets Twilight at a pony auction, she knows immediately he's the one for her. But there's more to Twilight than meets the eye. With the help of the magic spell she finds in an old book, can Lauren unlock the secret and help Twilight become who he was born to be?

My Secret Unicorn: Dreams Come True

Linda Chapman

Most of the time, Twilight looks like an ordinary grey pony but when Lauren says the words of a spell he transforms into a magical unicorn and together they can fly all over the world . . .

Lauren's nervous about starting a new school and making new friends but then she meets pony-crazy Mel! Mel's pony Shadow is terrified of making jumps and with the next meet only a week away, Lauren is desperate to help Shadow overcome his fear and make her new friend's dreams can true. Can Twilight's magical powers help Shadow to be brave?

Stocking fillers and toys

shop now

 

.