The Wartime Bookshop

The Wartime Bookshop

The first in a heart-warming WWII saga series about community and friendship, from the RNA award-winning author

Summary

The first in a brand-new nostalgic and heart-warming WWII series, perfect for fans of Donna Douglas and Elaine Everest.

Alice is nursing an injured hand and a broken heart when she moves to the village of Churchwood at the start of WWII. She is desperate to be independent but worries that her injuries will make that impossible.

Kate lives with her family on Brimbles Farm, where her father and brothers treat her no better than a servant. With no mother or sisters, and shunned by the locals, Kate longs for a friend of her own.

Naomi is looked up to for owning the best house in the village. But privately, she carries the hurts of childlessness, a husband who has little time for her and some deep-rooted insecurities.

With war raging overseas, and difficulties to overcome at home, friendship is needed now more than ever. Can the war effort and a shared love of books bring these women - and the community of Churchwood - together?

-------------------------------

**Why readers love Lesley Eames**


'BRILLIANT' 5 star review
'Gorgeously written with thoughtfulness, this story captured my heart' 5 star review
'Fantastic writing. I would recommend' 5 star review
'This book is a breath of fresh air' 5 star review
'I loved reading every single page of this heart-warming saga and five stars from me' 5 star review
'Such a beautiful and poignant tale. I have nothing but praise for this outstanding book' 5 star review

About the author

Lesley Eames

Lesley has 90 published short stories to her credit alongside four historical sagas set around the time of WW1 and into the Roaring 20s. The Wartime Bookshop is her fifth book and her first venture into the WW2 period. Originally from the north west of England (Manchester), Lesley's home is now Hertfordshire where The Wartime Bookshop's fictional village of Churchwood is set. Along her journey as a writer, Lesley has been thrilled to have enjoyed success in competitions as varied as crime writing to writing for children. She is particularly honoured to have won the Festival of Romance New Talent Award, the Romantic Novelists' Association's Elizabeth Goudge Cup and to have been twice shortlisted in the UK Romantic Novel Awards (RONAs).
Learn More

Sign up to the Penguin Newsletter

For the latest books, recommendations, author interviews and more